Georgia Unfiltered

Search This Site

08 March 2016

City of South Fulton Bill Fails to Pass Key Senate Committee, Dashing Referendum Hopes for 2016

Another year. Another defeat.

Supporters of the efforts to create a new city in unincorporated south Fulton County suffered a setback today, as the Senate Committee on State and Local Government Operations (SLOGO) failed to pass House Bill 514 -- the city of South Fulton bill.

The vote was 3 - 2 against advancing the legislation out of committee.

Democrats Gloria Butler and Horacena Tate voted for the bill. Republicans Marty Harbin, Greg Kirk, and P.K. Martin voted against the bill.

This marks the third consecutive year the proposal to create a new city of South Fulton has failed to pass the Georgia General Assembly.

With an estimated population of more than 100,000 people spread across 107 square miles, south Fulton remains the only area of the county unincorporated, after several new cities were created.