Georgia Unfiltered

Search This Site

20 October 2014

AJC Report: Unincorporated South Fulton County is One of Metro Atlanta's Biggest Ticket Traps

Since 2007, the jurisdiction of the Fulton County Police Department has been reduced to 107.3 square miles of land in unincorporated south Fulton County.

Fulton County has a total land area of 528.7 square miles and an estimated 2013 population of 984,293 [SOURCE: Fulton County Government].

A wave of municipalization, including the creation of four new cities and the annexation of unincorporated land into existing cities, between 2005 and 2007 narrowed the footprint of Fulton County; leaving the police department as the local law enforcement agency for an estimated 121,000 people or 12.2% of Fulton's total population.

Municipal police departments in Alpharetta, Atlanta, Chattahoochee Hills, College Park, East Point, Fairburn, Hapeville, Johns Creek, Milton, Mountain Park, Palmetto, Roswell, Sandy Springs, and Union City handle law enforcement in those fourteen cities.

Despite having such a small area to service in relation to the entire county, a report from the Atlanta Journal-Constitution says tickets written by Fulton County law enforcement resulted in $16.7 million in fines between 2008 and 2013; the fifth highest in metro Atlanta.

Read the entire Atlanta Journal-Constitution report on ticket traps here.