Georgia Unfiltered

Search This Site

18 July 2013

South Fulton Taxes Now Higher Than Taxes in Surrounding Cities

The Atlanta Business Chronicle reports that yesterday, the Fulton County Commission voted to raise taxes in unincorporated south Fulton.

North Fulton County Commissioner Liz Hausmann (R - Johns Creek) was the only vote against the tax increase.

The new property tax rate for south Fulton is 12.469; an increase of two mills.

With an estimated population of 87,628, south Fulton represents about 9.5% of the total Fulton County population. A wave of municipalization between 2005 and 2007 --resulting in the new cities of Chattahoochee Hills, Johns Creek, Milton, and Sandy Springs-- left south Fulton standing alone as the only unincorporated area in Georgia's largest county.

A Georgia Unfiltered comparison between south Fulton taxes and taxes in nearby cities show the proposed south Fulton millage rate would be higher than millage rates [in parentheses] in Atlanta (10.240), Chattahoochee Hills (10.958), Fairburn (9.98), Palmetto (8.50), and Union City (10.598). The property tax rates in these five cities pay for services like police, fire, zoning and planning, parks and recreation, environment and community development, and public works.

The 12.469 property tax rate for unincorporated south Fulton pays for the same services residents in nearby cities currently receive.