Georgia Unfiltered

Search This Site

08 May 2013

Governor Deal Signs New Fulton County Commission Maps into Law

Pending approval from the Department of Justice, Fulton County now has new commission maps.

Governor Nathan Deal signed into law House Bill 171, a bill creating staggered terms for Fulton County commissioners and re-drawing the Fulton County Commission districts.

H.B. 171 eliminates one of Fulton County's two at-large commission seats in favor of six contiguous districts of equal size and one countywide commission seat. Each district roughly contains between 153,000 an 155,000 residents. The first election under the new maps will take place in 2014.