Georgia Unfiltered

Search This Site

26 July 2012

Shirley Franklin & Kasim Reed Appointed to DNC Credentials and Rules Committees

The Democratic National Committee announced that its Executive Committee appointed two Atlanta Mayors, one current and one former, to serve on the Democratic National Convention Credentials and Rules Committees.

Shirley Franklin and Kasim Reed were nominated to serve on the two convention committees by DNC Chairman Debbie Wasserman Schultz, after consultation with Georgia state Democratic party chairman Mike Berlon. The Reed and Franklin nominations were confirmed by a vote of the DNC Executive Committee in April.

The Democratic National Convention Rules Committee is responsible for recommending the permanent rules of the Convention, the Convention agenda, the permanent officers of the Democratic National Convention, and amendments to the Charter of the Democratic Party of the United States.

The Democratic National Convention Credentials Committee is charged with determining and resolving questions concerning the seating of delegates and alternates to the Convention. If there is a dispute regarding the eligibility of a delegate or alternate to attend and cast votes at the Democratic National Convention, the Credentials Committee handles those disputes.

A list of the Standing Convention Committee membership, as ratified by the DNC Executive Committee in April, is posted below.

Dem Convention Standing Committee Membership

The Rules, Credentials, and Platform Committees will meet in Charlotte, the weekend before the Democratic National Convention, to issue its final reports to the delegates.