Georgia Unfiltered

Search This Site

19 March 2012

The GAGOP Issues the Final Presidential Preference Primary Delegate Count

In a tweet sent out to followers at 8:51PM Sunday night, the Georgia Republican Party issued its final delegate count for the March 6th presidential presidential preference primary.

Newt Gingrich, as expected, won the most delegates from Georgia; picking up 31 district-level delegates, the 3 delegate votes of Georgia's Republican National Committee members, and 18 at-large delegates; for a total of 52 delegates.

Mitt Romney finished second with 8 district-level delegates and 13 at-large delegates; for a total 21 delegates.

Rick Santorum won 3 district-level delegates.

Below is a break-down of the district-level delegates:

Newt Gingrich Ron PaulMitt RomneyRick Santorum
1 2010
2 2001
3 3000
4 2010
5 1020
6 1020
7 2010
8 2001
10 3000
11 2010
12 2001
13 3000

The Georgia Republican Party selects the individuals who will serve as delegates to National Convention at congressional district conventions held on April 14th, and at the state GOP convention held May 18th - 19th in Columbus, Georgia.

The Official Code of Georgia Annotated (O.C.G.A.) requires National Convention delegates to file a qualification oath with the Secretary of State pledging support for the presidential candidate they are selected to support until A.) a nominee is selected by the National Convention; B.) the presidential candidate a delegate is pledged to support receives less than 35% of the votes at the National Convention; C.) the presidential candidate releases the delegate from the pledge of support; or D.) two National Convention nominating ballots have been completed [O.C.G.A. § 21-2-196].