Georgia Unfiltered

Search This Site

25 March 2010

Qualifying Dates Set For Special Legislative Elections

Here's a press release from the Secretary of State:

Georgia Secretary of State Brian Kemp today announced receipt of Governor Sonny Perdue’s Writ of Election setting Tuesday, May 11, 2010 as the date for the Special Elections to fill the unexpired terms of State Rep. Tom Graves (HD 12), State Sen. David Adelman (SD 42), and State Sen. Lee Hawkins (SD 49).

Secretary Kemp set candidate qualifying for Monday, March 29, 2010 through Wednesday, March 31, 2010. Qualifying on Monday will run from 9:00 a.m. until 5:30 p.m.; on Tuesday from 8:00 a.m. until 5:30 p.m.; and on Wednesday from 8:00 a.m. until 12:00 p.m. Candidates will qualify in the Elections Division of the Office of Secretary of State, 1104 West Tower, 2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive, SE, Atlanta, Georgia 30334-1505. The qualifying fee is $400 for each office.

The election for House District 12 will occur in Pickens County and portions of Bartow and Gordon Counties. The election for Senate District 42 will occur in a portion of DeKalb County. The election for Senate District 49 will occur in Hall County and a portion of Jackson County. Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, May 11, 2010.

The elections are non-partisan special elections with no party primary. However, each candidate’s party affiliation, if any, will be listed on the ballot. A run-off election, if needed, will be held Tuesday, June 8, 2010.

Once again, these elections are to determine who'll have the "I" listed next to their name in November.