Georgia Unfiltered

Search This Site

04 December 2009

Four Candidates Qualify For Augusta State Senate Seat

Georgia Secretary of State Karen Handel announced the close of candidate qualifying for the Special Elections to fill state Senate District 22 on Friday, December 4, 2009 at noon.

The 22nd district seat formerly held by Ed Tarver became vacant after the U.S. Senate confirmed Tarver as a United States Attorney.

The candidates below qualified and paid the qualifying fee of $400 for the Special Election to be held on Tuesday, January 5, 2010. If no candidate receives a majority of the vote, a run-off election will be held Tuesday, February 2, 2010.

Taylor Bryant (Libertarian)
Hardie Davis (Democrat)
Harold Jones, II (Democrat)
Sandra Suetta Cannon Scott (Democrat)

In other news, only one candidate qualified for the state House seat formerly held by Hardie Davis. Democrat E. G. "Earnie" Smith only needs to vote for himself to become the next state Representative from the 122nd district.