Georgia Unfiltered

Search This Site

24 August 2008

The DNC Unfiltered: Shirley Franklin & the Credentials Committee

Later this morning, Atlanta Mayor Shirley Franklin will join House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, Kansas Governor Kathleen Sebelius and Texas State Senator Leticia Van de Putte for a press briefing kicking off convention week.

Shirley Franklin has been nominated by the DNC Rules Committee to serve as a co-chair for the 2008 Democratic National Convention.

Also, the 186-member convention credentials committee will meet today to resolve any outstanding challenges to the voting rights of any delegate elected to serve at the Democratic National Convention. The committee will also act on Sen. Obama's request that the delegations from Florida and Michigan be seated at full voting strength.

During the Democrats' primary season, the states of Florida and Michigan were stripped of their delegates to the Democratic Convention after they scheduled primaries that violated the national party's delegate selection rules.

Four Georgians serve on the DNC Credentials Committee:

State Sen. David Adelman;
Kirk T. Dornbush, Jr.;
Karol V. Mason; and
Patty A. Payne.